Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Cumberland County)

Default Tweaking a Pro Raptor

Good evening, all,
    I love the 1911 as much as life itself, and I've been hauling around a stainless Pro Carry II for a few years now. She's sweet, but I'm getting a killer deal on a Pro Raptor from a buddy, and am thinking of making that the daily companion. One thing that's always sort of bugged me is the takedown method for these bull-barrel beasts, you're almost dependent on that goofy guide rod plug tool. Does anyone have any idea how a 4" bull barrel gun would react to running a standard A1 spring guide and spring plug if I ditch the full-length set up? This would be for simplicity's sake only, as tearing it down would be much easier. Any thoughts are welcome. I'll inquire about bypassing the Schwartz safety later.

Default Re: Tweaking a Pro Raptor

Quote Originally Posted by 93-in-a-55 View Post
    Any thoughts are welcome.
    I have one bull barrel 1911 and I really don't find the tool thingy an issue. I did a little research on this a while back just because I was learning the ins and outs of the pistol and what you can/could/should/shouldn't do to a 1911. If you do this, you'll want to be sure the parts you buy fit properly and do not cause any peening. If you do not know how to fit a GI guide rod in this gun to be sure it isn't beating your frame, you'll want to get a good 1911 smith to make the adjustments needed so it doesn't peen. Nothing worse than taking your gun down and see parts of the frame, lugs, lower lug, etc; banged up. These adjustments may be minor, but it's doubtful the bill will be. The Raptor being stainless, it may not even be an issue, but I'd want a perfect fit just for the anal factor.