Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Cambria County)

Default Decided to take on a Preemption Violation

Noticed that our local park has this posted:
    "Hunting, trapping and the possession of firearms, traps and other weapons is prohibited, without exception."

Stackhouse Park
    Westmont, PA
    http://www.stackhousepark.com/

Sent this email to the Chairman of the Board:

Greetings,

My name is ************* and I am a resident of Westmont. I was recently walking in your park with my 1 year old son when I stopped to read the rules and regulations that you have posted. They state:

"HUNTING AND WEAPONS
    Hunting, trapping and the possession of firearms, traps and other weapons is prohibited, without exception."

While I understand your desire to convey that hunting is not allowed on park property, the current wording is in clear violation of state law.:

Title 18, Chapter 61, subchapter A (otherwise known as The Uniform Firearms Act) specifically subsection 6120 which states: "General rule: No county, municipality or township may in any manner regulate the lawful ownership, possession, transfer or transportation of firearms, ammunition or ammunition components when carried or transported for purposes not prohibited by the laws of this commonwealth.”

To conform with state law you can simply change the wording of your posted rules and regulates to read:

"Hunting, trapping and the possession of firearms, traps and other weapons is prohibited. This does not apply to those carrying firearms openly or concealed pursuant to State law"

The preemption statute I quoted was passed in 1995. I am unsure when your policies on the matter were adopted, and understand that it may have been in place before 1995, explaining why it may have been overlooked. However, there was no grandfathering of existing limitations, so in any event, the rule as it stands today is improper.