Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default I need gun right restoration help, please

Good morning, all.

I am a new member to the board here and I need some help and/or guidance. I am an Army Veteran that is in need of gun rights restoration. I was stationed at Fort Eustis, Va. back in '99 to '04 when I got out of the Army. In total, I served 8 years honorably with 1 tour to Iraq. I was married young and like any married couple that is young, we had our problems. My wife had an affair and ended up getting pregnant as a result of the affair. When I was told of the affair, we had a huge argument and she ended up calling the cops. In the state of Virginia, if the cops are called to a residence for domestic violence, someone is going to jail. I was arrested for domestic violence that evening. Once the military found out about the arrest, I was enrolled in what is called the PRIDE program. This is 26 weeks of anger management. When my court case came about in Newport News, the judge saw that I was enrolled in the PRIDE program and continued the case and said that upon completion of the program, the charges would be expunged. I was deployed to Iraq on January 10th of 2003, 23 weeks into my 26 week program. I left my then wife as power of attorney for bills and such while I was deployed. Bear in mind, deployments then are not like they are now. We had no notice of this deployment. I was over seas for a total of 8 months. In that 8 months, my court case had come up and was continued 3 times and on the 3rd time the judge found me guilty because I was not showing up to the hearing. Naturally because I was not in country.