Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Question As an NJ Resident, can't I buy NJ-compliant Long-Guns in PA? FFL says no?

*EDIT* - Called another FFL. Perfectly legal, there is an NJ specific form. DONE. close thread.

Hi all.

Long story short --> Looking for an FFL near Philadelphia to transfer two NJ-compliant long-guns (shotguns, 870 clones) to me. I am now an NJ Resident with FPID, COE, and DL. I thought this wasn't a problem, but so far I've had one FFL tell me that it is illegal/playing with fire.

I made the purchase online, but the seller won't ship to NJ due to policy... but will ship to PA (probably DE too).

Anyone know of some one who will do the transfer? It IS legal, right?
    Last edited by phoenix_iii; May 15th, 2013 at 08:35 AM.

(Dauphin County)

Default Re: As an NJ Resident, can't I buy NJ-compliant Long-Guns in PA? FFL says no?

I'm admittedly not well-read about this, but the following quote from an ATF FAQ makes me think that what you describe should be legal so long as NJ and PA don't prohibit it.

Q: From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA?

A person may only acquire a firearm within the person’s own State, except that he or she may purchase or otherwise acquire a rifle or shotgun, in person, at a licensee’s premises in any State, provided the sale complies with State laws applicable in the State of sale and the State where the purchaser resides. A person may borrow or rent a firearm in any State for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes.

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(3) and (5), 922(b)(3), 27 CFR 478.29 and 478.30]
    (emphasis added)
    I am not a lawyer. Nothing I say or write is legal advice.

(Chester County)

Default Re: As an NJ Resident, can't I buy NJ-compliant Long-Guns in PA? FFL says no?

I just called another FFL and they said yes, no problem, just use the NJ specific form. So I can close this thread.

(Cumberland County)

Information that may help others...