Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default NYS resident with a PA LTCF.

Greetings.

I'm a newbie to this site. I'm a former PA resident with a PA LTCF. I moved to NYS last year for a better business opportunity and a great deal on property, mind you I live less than 2 miles from the PA border. I recently applied for my NYS pistol permit after jumping through so many hoops over the last 10 months to make any person go insane. It will be about a good 4-8 months before I receive my permit for NY. My PA LTCF has my old PA address on it. My question is is my PA LTCF still valid or is it invalid because I currently don't have a CCW from my home state? I've been getting so much misleading information on this. Any information will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: NYS resident with a PA LTCF.

Move back to PA, problem solved.

In all seriousness, I'm not sure if your PA LTCF is valid as you are not a resident of the state and don't currently posses a ny permit. Not sure if you'd have to surrender current ltcf and apply as a non-resident once you get your ny permit. It appears the law says shall not issue if you don't have the ny permit, but you already have the LTCF for pa.

While waiting for an answer from somone more knowledgeable than myself, check the law section of this web site, that's where I'm headed to look for an answer for you.

Good question, I'll await other responses.
    Last edited by Cfurlo; May 13th, 2013 at 09:08 PM.

(Susquehanna County)

I did the same thing as you before moving back to PA. I'm assuming you are not in Broome County as 4-8 months to get your permit is unrealistic. Broome/Tioga counties require you to be a county resident for 3 years before even issuing your restricted permit.