Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Carrying a friend's gun.

I know this has been answered before, but I wanted to ask because there were a lot of grey areas in the answers I read. My situation has a lot of stuff that could make this legal or illegal.

I am a PA resident. My best friend is a PA resident. He joined the Army about 3 years ago. While stationed in Georgia, he bought a handgun (in Georgia). He was later tasked to deploy. When on leave before the deployment, he brought his handgun home with him, as he didn't want to leave it at his post. His parents didn't want it in the house, so he gave it to me. He's currently in Afghanistan. He said I can carry it as much as I want, and use it as much as I want. I have a PA LTCF, he does not. He is not loaning it to me as collateral, just loaning it to me.

To my understanding, I can carry it since we are both 21, the firearm was legally purchased, I have an LTCF, and the firearm isn't being used as collateral.

The only part that makes me wonder is the fact that he does not have a PA LTCF.

Thoughts on this?

ETA: Just wanted to throw this in: I asked the deputy who gave me my LTCF, and she told me I could carry my friend's gun, she just wanted to make sure I knew the person well, as well as the history of the firearm (i.e. it wouldn't be wise to carry a gun that may have been used in a crime. However I never told her the details.
    Last edited by Anthony1911; May 5th, 2013 at 06:15 PM.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Carrying a friend's gun.

perfectly legal as far as i know. your friend not having a ltcf has no bearing on the situation.

i am not a lawyer

(Delaware County)

Your story is confusing and I don't understand you... If he was a Georgia resident and you were a PA resident, and he gave you the gun... State and federal laws were broken in an illegal transfer. If both PA residents, that's fine

The law: