Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Considering a surplus rifle

So I've been thinking about this for a while and have narrowed it down to two barring anyone who comes up with a better option in this thread.
    I am considering the K-31 Swiss and a Mauser in 6.5x55. I will be reloading for either of these so ammo is not an issue really. What are some pros and cons of the two and how do they compare to each other.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Considering a surplus rifle

I have a Mosin and love it.

However, you are looking at a Mauser, so wrong "m".

;-)
    Gunowner99 - NRA Benefactor Life Member

(Lehigh County)

If ammo is not a concern then I would say go with whichever strikes your fancy. I have fired the M96 and it didn't have the "gotta get one impact" the K31 did. Now I am new to the m1931 as I have only really shot it once or twice, however the straight pull action, and how incredibly smooth the action was really impressed me.

I have nothing negative to say about either other then ammo availability, but for you its a non starter.

Yea the Mosin is a great one but I can get one down the road a bit... like next week. I want a good shooter but a quality rifle that I can hunt with also, I just feel the 6.5 Swede and the K-31 asre the better options

I have a M96 and a M38. I would be willing to part with one of them, PM me if you are interested.

(Westmoreland County)

I like them both but prefer the Swedish rifles because I like the 6.5x55 chambering better. The only downside I see with the swede is the brass. American made brass is formed from .30-06 brass and the dimensions are a little off. For this reason the American made brass does not hold up as well to reloading. The only alternative is buy Lapua or Norma brass, which is good brass that will hold up. It's just a bit more expensive. Most agree that the additional expense is worth it though.