Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Lebanon County)

Default disqualification for firearms from the state of Pennsylvania

I am a PA resident, active duty Air Force stationed in VA. I have a LTCF from Centre Co that expires this July. So I recently applied for a VA concealed handgun permit and was just denied with the reason, “criminal record shows a disqualification for firearms from the state of Pennsylvania, the orig of which is unknown.” I contacted the Centre Co sheriff and he confirmed my PA permit is still valid and has no reasons to revoke it. I purchased 2 separate background checks and both returned “clear”. I went through an VA FFL dealer to purchase a handgun in March '13, and I also purchased a handgun in PA Oct '12, both clearing NCIS checks.

Does anyone here have any ideas as to why I pass NCIS checks, have a valid PA LTCF permit, but PA shows me disqualified for firearms? Any ideas where to start to try and correct this?

Thanks

The land o' cotton, old times there are not forgotten

Default Re: disqualification for firearms from the state of Pennsylvania

Does Virginia have an appeals process? Perhaps they have you confused with someone else.

(Northampton County)

If everything you say is true, then it is a case of mistaken identity, you need to give them your SSN, that way they can determine who you are. Someone else with your name had an "ooopsie."

(Monroe County)

Quote Originally Posted by 10PointHunter View Post
    If everything you say is true, then it is a case of mistaken identity, you need to give them your SSN, that way they can determine who you are. Someone else with your name had an "ooopsie."
    SSN's aren't supposed to be used for ID purposes and can be 'spoofed'.

Finger prints by a LEO. That's what PA requires ... Been There.
    “When a man cannot chose, he ceases to be a man.”

The land o' cotton, old times there are not forgotten

Quote Originally Posted by Arrdy View Post