Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default *MY* Ammo Situation

After 17 years in the Army I am not new to shooting, though I am new to gun ownership. My wife and I just purchased our first guns in January - S&W M&P Shield 9 for her and Taurus PT1911 for me. Range trips so far have been about (re)familiarizing with the guns, and working on basic marksmanship fundamentals - I can put 18+ out of 20 in a paper plate at 25 yards , and one would generally do well not to piss off the missus , so that's been achieved. My usual trip has been 100-150 rounds, though I will probably cut back for a while and just shoot to remain proficient. She usually limits herself to 50 rounds or less, but will continue like that about once a week for a while yet til she is confident in her shooting. We have brought each of the kids (all 21 and over) to the range a few times, and the youngest is always asking, “We going shooting this week?” Now that I have my LTCF, and she has applied for hers, I am going to start practicing my draw and presentation at home with snap caps, and suggest she do the same after selecting a holster.