Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default Tangent vs. Secant Ogive

I'm no mathematics professor or bullet manufacturer but understanding how bullet shape affects COL is a good thing to know when hand loading.

Pictured from left to right are 3 rounds that I chambered in my match AR:
    1. 75 grain HPBT @ 2.250"
    2. 52 grain HPBT @ 2.225"
    3. 52 grain HPBT @ 2.182"

http://s1007.photobucket.com/user/bs...tml?sort=6&o=7

As you can see, the 52's tangent shape is well into the lands and is nearly impossible to manually extract. Despite being .025" longer, the 75 grain shows no evidence of touching the lands.

Tangent bullets have a much more "stout" shape whereas secant shaped bullets are much more "sleek." In other terms, the ogive of a tangent bullet is located closer to the tip of the projectile. Whereas the ogive of a secant bullet is much farther back.

Bill
    Last edited by paplinker22; January 15th, 2015 at 09:40 PM.

(Blair County)

Default Re: Tangent vs. Secant Ogive

I never really thought about it, but I guess thats why certain bullets have much smaller COL on load data then you would expect for their size. The Game Kings Im loading now, say to make them 2.21, When match bullets of similar weights are 2.26. Definitely will be thinking about it now when I bring a bullet out more.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by paplinker22 View Post
    I'm no mathematics professor or bullet manufacturer but understanding how bullet shape affects COL is a good thing to know when hand loading.

http://s1007.photobucket.com/user/bs...tml?sort=3&o=0

As you can see, the 52's tangent shape is well into the lands and is nearly impossible to manually extract. Despite being .025" longer, the 75 grain shows no evidence of touching the lands.