Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default So after I cleaned the brass.......

.....which really isn't all that clean, just shiny on the outside, what do I do next?

I picked up a Lee Load-Master setup for 9mm and RCBS Vibratory Case Cleaner here in the classified section. Saved a bunch of brass, ran it through the press to remove the primers (since I'm new to this, I'm taking it one step at a time), put about 400 rounds in the case cleaner along w/the corncob media that came w/the cleaner, added a few 'squirts' of some 3M Swirl Remover and ran the cleaner for over 3 hours.

As stated, the brass is shiny, but the inside is still rather 'dingy' and the primer pocket is pretty much the same. I know that there are primer pocket cleaner, but is that what everyone uses on every single shell? What about the inside? I used a scratch awl to clean the primer pocket on about 100 rounds and ran a machine screw into the bottom to clean the inside, but man, that took almost 2 hours itself?

Suggestions? Home remedies?
    C.R.

(The Invisible Poster)

(Tioga County)

Default Re: So after I cleaned the brass.......

If the outside is clean your good to go. I don't do 9mm but I do bunches of 45ACP. I tumble with the primer in. then feed the LM. Don't worry abou the dingy inside on the stuff in the primer pocket. if you get to the point that the primer won't seat properly then worry about cleaning the primer pockets. some people don't clean their cases at all.

(Lawrence County)

Don't worry about shiny insides. I never clean primer pockets on pistol rounds......rifles, that's another story.

But....if you really want clean brass you need to wash it first. You can use a 5 gallon bucke from your local Lowes or Home Depot and some degreaser and hot water.

LycanusesNuFinishwithcorncobtumblethrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Monroe County)

Quote Originally Posted by LowFlyer View Post