Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Question from a new member: how to buy the first gun leagally?

I am a new member here. I have some questions about how to buy a rifle legally in PA. I am in Philadelphia now. But my status is that I am not a citizen nor a green card holder of USA. I am an international student (F1 visa holder). I love this country and it's gun culture. I can not wait until I get the green card many years later. Thus I would like to buy a rifle "legally" in PA. I have some questions:

1) Is that legal to buy a rifle (or C&R eligible rifle, such as sks) directly from an adult (or an FFL holder) in PA? I am already 32 years old. If it is, how can I make sure the rifle is legal before buying it?

2) Is that possible for me to buy a rifle online and have it sent to a FFL holder , and then transfer the rifle to me? What documents are needed, if possible?

3) Can anybody recommend some friendly FFL holders or gun stores in Philadelphia?

Many Thanks!

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Question from a new member: how to buy the first gun leagally?

Unfortunately, you cannot legally PURCHASE or POSSESS any firearms or any ammunition in your current immigration status, this includes purchases from all FFL dealers, and also prohibits any face to face transfers from private citizens.
    The offense is a felony in the US.

here is the ATFs FAQ on nonimmigrant aliens and various questions and answers:
    http://www.atf.treas.gov/firearms/faq/faq2.htm#r1

the pertinent parts that apply to your situation:

R. NONIMMIGRANT ALIENS

(R1) May nonimmigrant aliens legally in the United States purchase or possess firearms and ammunition while in the United States?

Nonimmigrant aliens generally are prohibited from possessing or receiving (purchasing) firearms and ammunition in the United States.

There are exceptions to this general prohibition. The exceptions are as follows: