Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Wayne County)

Default Question about applying for new license in Phili.

Hi, So I'm a NYC resident planning to move to Center City Philadelphia in PA. I'm going to surrender my NY driver license for a PA driver license and become a PA resident. I have never been convicted of a crime (misdemeanor, felony), however, I was arrested once on suspicion of grand larceny (a felony), but was convicted of disorderly conduct which is a violation punishable by a maximum of 15 days in jail. This conviction is sealed. A violation is not a crime in NYC, according to my lawyer it's the equivalent of a traffic violation or jay walking. This happened when I was 21, I'm 23 now so 2 years went by. I can pass the NICS background check and buy a gun no problem. here's my question, I understand I need 2 references to apply for the conceal carry license. On the reference paper it asks "has this person ever been arrested?". It's on the reference paper so it's not directly asking me, it's asking the reference person. Do I have to tell my reference person about my arrest? What if he asks? If I tell him yes will it disqualify me? I want to just say "no" if he asks, but will I get in trouble in the long run being that my reference person said "no" but the truth is I was arrested once in NYC?

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Question about applying for new license in Phili.

Let me beat the angry mob that will shortly arrive with torches and pitchforks to tell you that you don't have to have references fill out the forms. Its true, you don't, but unless you want to be bent over the counter for a proctological exam by someone with hands the size of Shaq's, its far easier to just get people to fill the damned things out. The people who will tell you to fight the system don't live in Philly and just don't get it.