Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Fixing my first gun.

This old 22 was my first gun and was not in the best shape when it got to me. Nearly two decades later it ain't pretty.

I do love it though. In addition to it being given to me by family and it being the first real firearm that I ever shot, it's a Sears rifle. I'm not old enough to remember places like that selling guns, much less through a mail order delivered by the mail man. That ease of access in a time before gun control is interesting to me and it makes this a cool part of history.

I want to fix this thing up and make it as nice as possible. I understand it will never be the nicest rifle in the world and because of this I'd like to do it on my own and do it on a budget. All suggestions are welcome unless it's just to by a new gun. I'm fairly new to this but I'm really good at following directions.

IMG_0343 by greenandgold1975, on Flickr

The barrel is rusted and the finish on the receiver is scuffed too. I'm thinking of using duracoat to fix this? (notice the scope puled off a BB gun when I was 15)
    IMG_0354 by greenandgold1975, on Flickr
    I want to keep the Sears name on the barrel though. Will that be possible after getting rid of the rust and using a spray on finish?
    IMG_0358 by greenandgold1975, on Flickr
    The furniture need some work too. I've refinished wood though so that shouldn't be too tough.

The barrel collar is broken right where the rear sight attaches. Pretty big bummer. I've read that this rifle is the same as the Winchester 150 though so Numrich has parts...
    IMG_0348 by greenandgold1975, on Flickr

Let me know what you think. anything I haven't thought of?
    Last edited by greenandgold; March 14th, 2013 at 03:41 PM. Reason: fixing photos and misspellings

(Lycoming County)

Default Re: Fixing my first gun.