Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Cleaning pistol question

I'm still relatively new to shooting, so I like to ask questions to clarify anything I'm not 100% about. Anyway, I was cleaning my CZ 82 up today. For the most part, I clean it until the patches show no color - however, some hard to reach places, like the extractor and whatever the equivalent of a bolt face is on a pistol, are difficult to clean and may continually show black. While I can get at them, I'm not sure if it's good enough because, like I said, they still show some black on the patches and I can just tell I'm not making excellent surface contact with their valleys, ridges, etc. I've used a plastic jag for extra pressure, but it's still not an easy task because of how small the parts are compared to my hands. So, basically, my question is to what degree do firearms need to be cleaned? I can't tell if I'm being really anal or it HAS to be 100%.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Cleaning pistol question

Some guns come cleaner than others, at least that is my experience. Have you tried Q-Tips one of my very favorite gun cleaning tools!!! I am anal about my guns, after I shoot them I generally spend the next few days breaking them down finding tiny little places I missed and getting it all shiny. CZ's are good strong guns and I am sure you did just fine. But there is nothing wrong with being anal either, just make sure you don't go messing with things you are not sure about.

When injustice becomes law, rebellion becomes duty!

(York County)

Agreed some guns are cleaner than others, some fuction a little better when they got a little dirt in them. Nothing wrong with be clean though.

BB
    3%