Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default Knowledgeable person on Colt 1911's needed!

I'm looking for someone to give me an estimate on the value of a pistol I'm about to get in a trade.

The gun is a Colt Combat Government MK IV 80 series 5" blue. I ran the serial number through Colt and the gun was made in 1984. It comes with (2) magazines and does not come with the original box/paperwork. It does not have the original grips, it comes with a pair of wood grip panels. Condition of the 1911 is very good.

I've searched the internet pretty good but everything I find is several years old infomation. I understand the differences between the 70 and 80 series but I'm really quite lost on trying to find the value. Any help is appreciated.

Default Re: Knowledgeable person on Colt 1911's needed!

I'm no Colt expert, but I thought the "Combat Government" came along well after 1984. I thought that one of the first variations of the full sized colt (other than the Gold Cup) was the "Combat Elite", which was a series 80 and came along in the late 80's. The also were equipped with wrap-around rubber grips with silver rampant colt medallions. I defer to any true Colt experts, but that is just what I remember - but the old memory isn't what it used to be.

Adios,

Pizza Bob
    NRA Benefactor Member

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Pizza Bob View Post
    I'm no Colt expert, but I thought the "Combat Government" came along well after 1984. I thought that one of the first variations of the full sized colt (other than the Gold Cup) was the "Combat Elite", which was a series 80 and came along in the late 80's. The also were equipped with wrap-around rubber grips with silver rampant colt medallions. I defer to any true Colt experts, but that is just what I remember - but the old memory isn't what it used to be.

Adios,

Pizza Bob