Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Schuylkill County)

Default 1911 4 or 5 inch?

Have decided my next purchase will be a 1911. Was at the lgs and pretty much worked it down to the make/model I wanted when in walks a 4 inch higher end 1911 on a trade in. Sure felt nice in my hands but I have no experience shooting a 45 with this length of barrel. Just wondered what you people thought on the 4 vs. 5 barrel length. This is just another addition to the collection and will get shot regularly but will not be my ccw.

Default Re: 1911 4 or 5 inch?

Definitely a little easier to carry, should you ever decide to. As far as collecting, it really makes no difference except to those who only collect 5" or longer 1911's. At the range is where you may see a difference simply because some sights are harder to use on a shorter slide. The mechanical accuracy is there as long as you can get a good sight picture. In other words, if you take Novak style sights off a 5" 1911 and put them on a 4", it will be harder to get the same sight picture. The closer radius makes for larger gaps in the windows. If the sights are set up for a 4", then 'bout the only thing you have to contend with is about 40 or so FPS slower velocities out of a 4" verses a 5". It's a tough decision, yes, but there is no real good reason to not get the one you like the best, especially if you plan on keeping it for a while. JMHO
    BCM and Glock...for a bigger pile of 'cold dead hands' brass.

Quote Originally Posted by paptini View Post
    Have decided my next purchase will be a 1911. Was at the lgs and pretty much worked it down to the make/model I wanted when in walks a 4 inch higher end 1911 on a trade in. Sure felt nice in my hands but I have no experience shooting a 45 with this length of barrel. Just wondered what you people thought on the 4 vs. 5 barrel length. This is just I have a another addition to the collection and will get shot regularly but will not be my ccw.