Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Beaver County)

Default Winchester 1987 question.

I just bought a winchester 1897 at my local gun shop. I beleive it to be made in 1901 from the serial number and some info I found in the Internet. But the problem I seem to be having is it seems like it dosent want to stay in battery. You pump the slide but if you put even the slightest amount of pressure on it goin backwards the bolt opens, but other times it locks up solid. I've shot it probably 40 times and have had no problems firing or cycling. I'm just not crazy about the bolt comin open when I don't want it to. I'm pretty sure the lock up area is under the hammer behind the bolt (I have no experience with this firearm) but I'm not sure if that's just the nature of the beast with that said shot gun or the fact that maybe she's wore out from over 100 years of bein used. If anyone has any input it would be appreciated. I don't know if I should just keep shooting it or try to find possibly a new locking block or bolt. Thanks

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Winchester 1987 question.

At one time, I owned a Winchester 1897 riot gun. It it not "the nature of the beast" for it to come out of battery, as you describe. Something is wrong though I can't tell you what. It's been too long since I've handled one to help.

Maybe you could find a manual or schematic for it?
    Steve: NJ State Trooper #3936 (retired), NRA LE Firearms Instructor

(Lawrence County)

Sometimes in pump guns the locking lugs become worn from use or can get filled with crud. If they're worn then what needs to be done is the lugs on the bolt and in the receiver need to be reformed. A really good gunsmith should be able to do this. They weld the lugs, build up the metal, and then shape and shave them down back to how they came from the factory.