Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Recycling Brass

(Philadelphia County)

Default Recycling Brass

(Newbie here, first real post)
    Hey guys,
    Does anyone know of a recycling center in the philadelphia, montgomery, or bucks county areas(close to philly) that take or give good prices per pound of fired brass? I have a 5 gallon bucket and some change of 9mm and 38 special, and more on the way . I started saving my brass with no intention of reloading or recycling (i had no idea u could recycle it until i read the forums), just because i felt guilty and thought "why the hell not save it, its my brass/money". And also...is it ok to leave the primers in or do i have to remove them?
    Thanks for any input
    Jim

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Recycling Brass

If you are posative it is once fired then bag it up in 500 and 1000 count lots and sell it online as once fired brass.

It is worth WAY more to a reloader than it is to a scrap dealer!

For instance Lake City once fired 5.56 brass is selling right now between 65 and 75 bucks per thousand depending on a few things. 1000 LC 5.56 cases weights right in about 13.4 pounds. With scrap brass hovering in the $2.00 per pound area, you would only get $26. bucks for $70. worth of brass.

If what you have is once fired then send me a PM with weight and calibers. I may be interested in buying in if you have enough of it.

Rich W.

(Philadelphia County)

its maybe 75% 9mm and 25% .38 spl. I didnt think there was that many 9mm or .38 reloaders....

Quote Originally Posted by jimlc55 View Post
    its maybe 75% 9mm and 25% .38 spl. I didnt think there was that many 9mm or .38 reloaders....

Well i'm one of those 9mm reloaders.

MG's eat a lot of ammo
    No, not billet martini glasses... Baffles.... EVIL Baffles

(Berks County)

I think that anyone that reloads purty much reloads anything they shoot. 38 spl the guys that do cowboy shoots would probably be all over.

(Monroe County)