Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default New to Open Carry. Keep one in chamber or not?

Hello,

I'm new to Open Carry. I have actually had my license for years and just had to renew. I finally started carrying about two months ago when the shooting happened in the theatre. To be honest, it has always seemed cumbersome to carry so I finally went and bought a small sig 9mm. Here is the question though. I don't keep one in the chamber. Couple reasons for this. First, I have two kids. A 3 year old and a 6 year old who are both always coming and jumping on my lap. Even though it is kept in a holster, I could still see it going off from someone jumping on me. The problem is that I know it would take me a little longer to rack the chamber if I ever needed to pull it. In gun safety, I was always taught not to keep the gun caulked. For that reason I just don't feel safe keeping it "ready to fire". I guess its kinda catch 22? I feel as though I should be able to respond quicker if I ever needed it in self defense. I'd love to hear your opinions. So in the long, I'm concerned about self defense and safety around my kids at the same time.

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: New to Open Carry. Keep one in chamber or not?

Lots of advice in here, read through it: http://forum.pafoa.org/pistols-41/19...hlight=chamber
    Rules are written in the stone,
    Break the rules and you get no bones,
    all you get is ridicule, laughter,
    and a trip to the house of pain.

Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    Lots of advice in here, read through it: http://forum.pafoa.org/pistols-41/19...hlight=chamber
    Thanks. I figured it would be on here somewhere

(Lancaster County)