Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Introduction to you all and my Philly LTCF issues

First off: Long time lurker, first time poster. I've found much valuable information from PAFOA and I appreciate everybody's contributions. Your voices mean a lot and you've swayed my thoughts on many things or helped me stand strong on others. So, thank you!

Second: I'm a "Philadelphia" resident. I'm situated nicely withing a couple miles (at best) of the city lines. This, of course, gives me the benefits of paying city taxes, getting city services and dealing with the city rules and regulations - all of which are no fun. I've been a shooter for many years but recently made the plunge into handguns and looking into my LTCF (after prowling around here for months). As it stands I have no criminal background or anything barring me from getting an LTCF. The only issue that stands is well documented on this site which basically is just Philadelphia being Philadelphia and not wanting to issue it to me.

My primary issues are:
    Proof of address - To keep things organized and easy, through various arrangements, my insurance, bank statements, etc. all go to my father's office. I have to update my voter registration so that could be one but I'm having an issue with this.

and

References: I have fellow shooters, personal friends, and family friends who all would attest to my good nature so I'm not worried about that. I've read on here that they DO NOT need to be Philadelphia residents, despite people telling me otherwise, which would be my only cause for concern.

It's a shame that I have to work so hard to ensure I'm protected but a criminal doesn't have to jump through bureaucratic hoops to rob and kill me.

Any thoughts on proof of address? Car stuff is to my dad's office too.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Introduction to you all and my Philly LTCF issues

Welcome!