Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun Range?

(York County)

Wink Gun Range?

I am new to York County. I am looking for a range in the Red Lion Area. Interested in rifle, handgun,and shotgun shooting. I would be interested in joining a club, and am thinking about trying the "cowboy action shooting".
    Do I need to go to the courthouse in York to obtain my CC permit?
    Thanks, for you help.

(York County)

Default Re: Gun Range?

Quote Originally Posted by retiredsgt View Post
    I am new to York County. I am looking for a range in the Red Lion Area. Interested in rifle, handgun,and shotgun shooting. and am thinking about trying the "cowboy action shooting". Do I need to go to the courthouse in York to obtain my CC permit? Thanks, for you help.
    Hello -

Welcome to York County.

An indoor range: Freedom Armory, Glen Rock,
    http://www.freedomarmory.com/joomla/index.php Nice facility, good staff, I shoot there in bad weather.

An outdoor range: ILWA, between Loganville and Dallastown http://www.iwla.org/index.php?id=25, separate ranges; rifle out to 200 yards, pistol out to 100 yards, shootgun pattering and a skeet set-up (5 block houses?) Well maintained, good people, very quiet during workdays. IPSC and shotgun competitions.

Lots of SASS (Cowboy shooting). The one closest to Hanover (my home):
    http://www.skywardthought.com/westsh...n_shooting.php 33 miles one way, north east of Hanover, west side of the river a little south of Harrisburg.

CC permit: You can go (I think, not 100% sure) to the Chief of Police in the jurisdiction where you live or Courthouse Sherrif's Office. Thats where I go. Good service, polite staff, quick turn arround.

Good luck, be safe, have fun!!

SouthCentral

(York County)

South Central:
    Thanks for the info.

(York County)

Quote Originally Posted by retiredsgt View Post
    Do I need to go to the courthouse in York to obtain my CC permit?
    Thanks, for you help.