Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default I applied For my LTCF and have a question

Ok I applied for my permit almost a month ago and if I get it i am undecided on what to carry. I am not familiar with what kind of holsters there are I have tried looking some up online but I dont really understand. I was thinking of going small like a Springfield XD SubCompact but I would like to carry a full size 1911. I am a pretty big guy 6'3 240lbs I am a mechanic so my shirt is always tucked in is there a holster I could buy that will allow me to carry either of these under a tucked shirt. I have pretty big hands and I dont like small guns I have a davis Industries P32 and it is way to small for my hands. I was thinking about just getting a belt holster and only carring when I have a shirt long enough to cover it. If anybody can give me some tips I would appreciate it.

Default Re: I applied For my LTCF and have a question

I have the XDsc and there are tuckable holsters for it. The best seems to be the crossbreed supertuck.

Good for tucked in and not.

Im working on getting one now.

(Chester County)

The best thing I can suggest is to go to a gun shop and fondle... I mean, handle a few guns. See what feels good and fits your hands.

Try to find a shop that rents guns too. Spend a few bucks renting and testing them out. It sure beats buying a gun only to find that you hate it. A fullsize 1911 is going to heavy, even for a big guy like yourself. You may want to consider a polymer pistol.

I carry a fullsize Taurus 24/7 Pro. usually in an OWB DeSantis Speed Scabard. It's a great holster. I also have a Galco IWB Summer Carry holster. It's very good too. I prefer OWB because it's more comfortable.

One thing though... Will the gun dig into your sides while you're working?

There are IWB holsters that you can tuck a shirt into to cover. I forget the brand though. Someone here will know.
    Μολὼν λάβε