Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Question Property rights and firearms?

This is something that has been bothering me for a while now. How in the world did someone figure that private property rights could trump both the federal and state constitutions on a citizens right to bare arms for self defense? Rights that are protected so that even a government cannot violate them(in theory) can be trumped because you are standing in Jim Bob's front yard? Or somebody's store? Although I am not a lawyer (way too honest) I see a major hole in this arguement. If that right is ok to prevent than are all the others ok to deny also? The next time I go to the mall can they search me and take whatever I might have because they want to? No..... Can they tell me I cannot speak my mind and voice my opinion on a subject when asked by another? No.... Can they imprision me with no charges and no lawyer? No..... So why should my right to self defense be treated any differently? The law of the land does not stop at the property line. Local state and federal laws do not evaporate on private property......why should my rights?

Can someone please explain this to me?

What is your opinion?

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Property rights and firearms?

Quote Originally Posted by sluggie24 View Post
    This is something that has been bothering me for a while now. How in the world did someone figure that private property rights could trump both the federal and state constitutions on a citizens right to bare arms for self defense? Rights that are protected so that even a government cannot violate them(in theory) can be trumped because you are standing in Jim Bob's front yard?
    the federal and state constitutions do not apply *even* to government, they apply *only* to government.

the bill of rights and PA declaration of rights only limit what the government can do...they do not limit what private citizens can do.