Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question How many times do you chamber the same +1 round?

1 Time
    10 or more
    20 or more
    Use the same round till i need to use it!

I'm asking this because i am just learning about setback. I spot checked a friends gun who carry's every now and then and he must have chambered the same round about 40 times needless to say the round was allot shorter then a new round (round discarded). I use Hornaday 40sw 165 grain in my Glock 22 gen4 and i chamber the same round 3 times before i put in the range bag for my next trip.
    People always ask me why i never smile.
    I TELL THEM IT'S BECAUSE MY CORPSE IS STILL BREATHING AND THEY DON'T FUCKING GET IT!

Default Re: How many times do you chamber the same +1 round?

I have gone as much as 30 in a month with no issues on my guns,but some guns its more noticeable on the round.

(Northampton County)

No kids around so I keep my guns loaded. I will rotate round after 2 chamberings.

(Bucks County)

There was a report about that but our Search engine is not the best and I can't find it ...... I rotate about every 5-10 in my daily and use that mag 1st at range
    Last edited by Sharkey; September 16th, 2012 at 06:29 PM.

I'm glad you brought this up. It's a new concept for me. Never heard of setback before but it makes sense. Thanks for the heads up.

(Philadelphia County)

The likelihood of setback varies by gun, ammunition and caliber. I've never observed it in 9mm Glocks, but then I don't re-use the same cartridge more than three or four times and I use Gold Dots, which are pretty solid. I have heard of a separate problem with Gold Dots, which is that the hollow point will tend to get pushed closed over time.