Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 43 1234511 ... LastLast
    (Fayette County)

Default Carrying with one in the chamber is Unsafe

I was with my wife and my daughter at Kmart in Uniontown tonight shopping for a few things. I was OC'ing my Glock 23 as always with a SERPA holster 3 o'clock. Tonight was the first time I also decided to carry with one in the chamber.

We were walking through the isles when I heard someone say "Open Carry huh?" I turned around to see an older fellow and this is pretty much what was said:

Me: Yeah, how about you?

He then motioned to his right side, I noticed he had something concealed.

Him:Ruger 9mm. I didn't know anyone around here open carried.

Me: I am fairly new to it, a few other people do it around here without any problems.

Him: You dont carry one loaded and ready do you?

Me: Funny you mention it, this is the first time I ever got the gull to do it. I'm usually too nervous about it. How about You?

Him: Nope, never, it is way too unsafe. I think people that carry with one in the chamber shouldn't carry a gun.

Me: Funny I thought I was the only one who was nervous about it, but why not? I'm sure you know the whole argument about not being able to rack the slide, your other hand being disabled, failure to feed...

He interrupted me saying: Remember when you learned to shoot? The 3 rules were this: (he started getting kind of mad at this point) Keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to shoot, Always treat a weapon as they were loaded, and keep the GODDAMNED thing pointed in a safe direction! How are you keeping it pointed in a safe direction when you have a LOADED firearm pointed either at yourself, other people or your family???

Me: Well I suppose that is true.