Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Butler County)

Thumbs up How to join a club - Pittsburgh, PA? (no sponsor)

Hi all,

Does anyone who belongs to a gun club have advice on gaining membership when you don't know anyone who is a current member there?

I've been shooting for about 15 years, and would like to join a local club in the Northern Pittsburgh area. I've researched my area and have found North Side Sportsmans Association, Millvale Sportsmans Association and few others but all the applications ask for a sponsor name/number.

Is there any way to gain membership without knowing an active member?

Thanks in advance.

Phil

(Beaver County)

Default Re: How to join a club - Pittsburgh, PA? (no sponsor)

I think you are doing it, a member of a club you are interested in will most likely see your post.

If for instance you were interested in Beaver Valley Rifle and Pistol Club, there are two board members that post on this site sometimes (I'm one of them). I would expect someone to want a phone call or meeting prior to sponsoring you.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by pbs357 View Post
    Hi all,

Does anyone who belongs to a gun club have advice on gaining membership when you don't know anyone who is a current member there?

I've been shooting for about 15 years, and would like to join a local club in the Northern Pittsburgh area. I've researched my area and have found North Side Sportsmans Association, Millvale Sportsmans Association and few others but all the applications ask for a sponsor name/number.

Is there any way to gain membership without knowing an active member?

Thanks in advance.

Phil
    PMSC has some events open to the public like trap shoots and CMP. There is also the PAFOA/PMSC group shoot where there will be allot of PMSC members.

(Butler County)