Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default Thinking of Building an AR any input?

I'm thinking about building an AR15, I'm trying to do some homework on the different options but there is so much info out there...

So what say you PAFOA, anything I should keep an eye out for, anything to avoid??

I'll most likely be building this slowly and accumulating parts as able, if there were to be any new assault weapon ban reinstated as long as I have the lower the rest should still be available right??

Thanks for the info I'm new to the dark side (my other rifles are steel and wood!)
    Last edited by DoubleSawbuck; July 27th, 2012 at 09:38 AM.

(York County)

Default Re: Thinking of Building an AR any input?

High capacity magazines and threaded barrels will be the first things to go, if you're worried about getting something that will be hard to get get those items first.

EDR
    Every day's a Saturday

(Montgomery County)

Nothing is more satisfying than building your own rifle. Make sure that you buy quality tools to get the job done right and watch instructional videos before you actually start the build. It is a lot in upfront costs but that's why you're just going to have to build more lowers so that you get your money's worth.

In terms of lowers, you'd be hard pressed to find a bad one these days but they all vary in terms of fit and finish. It will primarily come down to to the rollmark and what you want on the side of your mag well. If it the logo isn't important to you, you can score a lower for around $80. I personally like Primary Weapons System's rollmark and snatched up a few of them before they stopped selling stripped lowers. I've also built some rifles using Stag lowers which are also pretty nice. Not too long ago, some folks got burned with CMMG lowers that had tight magwells. The distributor failed to let the FFL know that they were "blemished" lowers and a lot of buyers were upset. Make sure you know what you're getting.