Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Reporting .22 rifle as lost 5 years ago

I am new to the forum and this is my first time posting.

About 12 years ago, when I was living in PA, I purchased a .22 rifle just to do some target practice while at my future in-laws vacation home. I always left the rifle in the house, tucked away in soffit. I used it a few times while at the house and forgot about it since we stopped visiting the property.

About 5 years ago the property was sold with much of the contents still there - the rifle included. I haven't thought about that .22 until the last couple of days and wanted to make sure that I properly reported it as lost.

I am trying to get in touch with the owner of the property (I assume they would have found it if they did any demo work in the house/kitchen area).

If I can't get in touch with them, what is the proper way to report the .22 as lost? I have since moved to NJ and just want to make sure I follow the right procedure. I don't have the serial # any longer. Is there some kind of public database that I can use to look that up or someone I can contact to get that information?

Thanks in advance.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Reporting .22 rifle as lost 5 years ago

Quote Originally Posted by pa_expat View Post
    About 5 years ago the property was sold with much of the contents still there - the rifle included. I haven't thought about that .22 until the last couple of days and wanted to make sure that I properly reported it as lost.
    The house in question was/is in PA, correct? The rifle was purchased in PA while you were a resident of PA and it never left, also correct? If so, then my take on it is as follows: If it was in the house when you sold the house, you didn't lose the rifle. You sold the rifle to whomever purchased the house. Of course, my assessment carries NO legal weight whatsoever.

(Jefferson County)