Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Susquehanna County)

Default Storing rifles in Pennsylvania, moving out of state

I feel that I've read a few threads about this topic on this forum, but I would still really appreciate your view on this.

While being a PA resident I purchased 4 rifles. At this point I am moving to NYC (planning to get NY residency by next week), and I would like to keep these rifles at my friend's house. I have no intention at this point to take them anywhere but to shooting range in PA time to time.

My goal is to be absolutely sure that my friend would not (even theoretically) get in any troubles with the law by letting me keep them at his place.

I'll put a few questions/statements here, and please confirm/deny them if you are knowledgeable in this topic or please point me to any references I didn't mention here.

1) My friend does not have any restrictions on possessing guns as defined in 18 Pa.C.S. § 6105 as he himself owns similar rifles.

2) My rifles have at least 16" barrel, 26" overall length so they are not defined as a "firearm" by 23 Pa.C.S. § 6102. Does this mean that storing them at my friend's place is the same as storing any other item of mine, like, say a computer ? (I understand that this is completely different for handguns, but I don't have any)
    Does the fact that these rifles are going to be stored in my own personal locked safe or that at least one of these rifles won't be allowed in NY State without modification is a factor at all to my friend's responsibility in front of the law ?

3) PA law does not have a definition of Assault Weapon, and the fact that 2 of my rifles are semi-auto with one being able to take magazines with capacities over 10 cartridges makes absolutely no difference to the point 2) above - is this correct ?