Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: NFA Gun Trusts

Default NFA Gun Trusts

I'm an attorney in Missouri, and I stumbled across this forum doing some internet research after a client came in this morning and asked if I would write him a gun trust to buy a suppressor. He and his brother in law want to both use the suppressor, but "heard" that they can do a single registration that allows both of them to use it if they bought it in a joint trust.

I do a lot of estate planning and write a lot of trusts, but I wanted to research what types of firearms specific language goes into the typical NFA trust. I'm an avid hunter, but I've never personally dealt with buying or owning anything more than standard sporting firearms and handguns. This is kind of new territory for me.

I found a lot of samples online, including some linked on this site, and for the most part, the trusts were pretty atrocious. They look like trust forms that were created 20 or 30 years ago with lots of holes in them. Very few of them have any firearms specific language.

Unless I get comfortable with the subject matter, I'm inclined to tell this client to go buy one of these horrible online trusts and avoid any liability on my part. I assume that a good gun trust would have language in it that identifies who can use the trust property. I assume you would have two classes of beneficiaries - a set of lifetime beneficiaries who can use the trust property (typically would be the grantors), and a set of at-death beneficiaries who receive the trust property on the death of the grantors.

Beyond that I'm not familiar enough with the subject matter to have an idea of what other types of provisions are needed. Any other attorneys on the board that want to give a fellow lawyer some free advice?