Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Gun Law Question ...

First of all, if I'm putting this in the wrong section, I apologize.

In any event, I have a pistol I want to give to my son. He's 25, and a resident of Arkansas who is visiting this week on vacation.

I'm a PA resident, and purchased the pistol here through the normal pistol buying process.

Can I transfer it to him as my son without any formal transfer/background process? He'll transport it legally (locked in it's original box, apart from any ammunition). Any legal pitfalls I should be concerned about?

Thanks in advance guys/gals for any advice.

(York County)

Default Re: Gun Law Question ...

The transfer between parent and child you're thinking of is a PA statute and applies when both are PA residents only.

What you are looking at here is an interstate transfer and must follow federal laws.

IIRC, at a minimum it must be transferred at an FFL in the buyers (or receivers) home state.

Edited to add: He cannot take it to Arkansas and transfer it there. He should find an FFL there who is willing to do the transfer, and follow his instructions. Likely you will have to ship it to the FFL, or you will have to get a PA FFL to ship it to the AR FFL.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; July 1st, 2012 at 08:35 PM.
    While many claim to support the right, precious few support the practice.

Please Note: The poster was issued an infraction for this post.

Was he ever a PA resident? Who is to say that you didn't transfer the weapon to him while you were both in PA, and PA residents?

P.S. The above is not legal advice.

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by OldSchoolPC View Post
    Was he ever a PA resident? Who is to say that you didn't transfer the weapon to him while you were both in PA, and PA residents?

do NOT suggest this sort of thing. ever.
    "Oderint Dum Metuant" - BMFH

"Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm"