Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default Me = Dumb, My M&P Shield got wet

I am going to make a short story shorter. My S&W M&P Shield got wet. Submerged wet. Not going into the how or why.

I am pretty new to the shooting scene in general but I just want to make sure that the next time I pull the trigger my gun goes "boom" the way it is supposed to. Sorry if I am ignorant but I want to be safe because I have not come across this before.

First thing I did was field strip it and dried everything off the best I could. I opened the magazine and completely dried it out. I will dispose of all ammo that was in the magazine. I then completely cleaned the gun with CLP and dried everything off again. I then put a drop of oil in the trigger and greased all other points as per the manual.

Is there anything I missed or am I GTG? Pretty new to firearms in general but I just want to make sure that the next time I pull the trigger my gun goes "boom" the way it is supposed to.

Thanks.

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Me = Dumb, My M&P Shield got wet

You're good. Water happens, you handled it, it's dry and lubed. It's gonna go bang when you pull, and not gonna kaboom.

(Schuylkill County)

I would field strip it and blow it out with compressed air then clean and lube it.

(Chester County)

I would fully strip the slide, dry off and lubricate those internal parts before reassembly. You may be able to find a video on youtube. I'm not sure how much the internals are like the regular compacts, but if you can't find any Shield specific vids, maybe looking at a 9c compact takedown (check for ApexTactical vids on replacing sears, or installing FFS) will point you in the right direction.

It was a toilet, wasn't it?

(Lancaster County)

Quote Originally Posted by TheWolff View Post