Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: BULLET CASTING

(Chester County)

Thumbs down BULLET CASTING

I'm new to bullet casting I am using old lead wheel weights. I have heard you should only use the type that mount on the rim an not the stick on kind. The reason I ask is that I have a little of both and I would hate to waste any. I would like to know if is ok to mix them when I melt them done.

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: BULLET CASTING

The stick on weights are a softer alloy is all just melt them all together unless you want the soft alloy for muzzleloader use .

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Tim Ault View Post
    The stick on weights are a softer alloy is all just melt them all together unless you want the soft alloy for muzzleloader use .
    Thanks for the heads up I wasn't sure if it would mess up I'm casting.

(Westmoreland County)

Quote Originally Posted by .45gunguy View Post
    Thanks for the heads up I wasn't sure if it would mess up I'm casting.
    No it won't hurt a thing . Even if you mix then 1:1 it will make a good all around alloy either air cooled for the lower pressure stuff or water dropped for the higher pressure loadings . What are you casting for Btw ?

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Tim Ault View Post
    No it won't hurt a thing . Even if you mix then 1:1 it will make a good all around alloy either air cooled for the lower pressure stuff or water dropped for the higher pressure loadings . What are you casting for Btw ?
    I'm pretty new to all this so I don't know what BTW means. I'm going to cast for 9mm and 45 acp. I'm hoping to get in to IDPA in the near future and this looks like the most cost efficient way to do so.

(Westmoreland County)