Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default New to the area, looking to go shooting...

Hey guys, first off let me start by introducing myself as I am new to the board. My name is Aaron, I'm 28, and separated from the Air Force in March of 2011. I moved to SW Philly and am currently enrolled at the Art Institute. I've kinda been lurking here for awhile doing a lot of research, and I figured now would be a good time to post.

OK, so I have lived in SW Philly for about a year now, and recently bought a Glock 23. I've had it for about 3 weeks, and picked up my LTCF about a week ago. Basically, I'm ready to go shooting now, but I'm kinda new at that too.

It looks like the closest range to me is Double Action in Yeadon, anybody have any experience with them? Also, while I've shot guns before, and got the standard M-16 training while I was in the Air Force, I've never fired a pistol before.

I was hoping if anybody in the area was planning a trip to Double Action, or perhaps even one of the ranges in South Philly, maybe we could meet up and I could learn some good tips and techniques to gain some proficiency? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I noticed that Double Action is offering a beginner's safety course at the end of the month for $85. Should I sign up for this? I'm not sure if it's gonna cover any shooting, or if it's just going to be safety. I'm not looking to part with $85 if it's only going to cover the basics that I've already learned in my military training.

Anyway, I've found a lot of answers to a lot of questions just by searching the boards here, and I've still got a few left. Perhaps I will be posting some other threads here soon, but for now I'm going to continue lurking and researching. At any rate, I'd like to say thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.

-Aaron

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: New to the area, looking to go shooting...