Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default bequeathed a pistol in a will

I am a NJ resident with a state FID/ firearms id card, who was bequeathed a revolver in a will by a cousin who was a PA resident and recently passed away.

In pursuit of a legal path to possession I was eventually directed to the NJ state police dept who manages firearm seminars for gun dealers. That detective said I just need to go to PA and pick up the gun, so that is now clear on my end re NJ.

PA requirements are still unclear.

The sheriff of the PA town where my cousin lived said an FFL to FFL transfer would be required.

Interesting as the couple of NJ FFL dealers I checked with thought the same thing but clearly indicated they were not certain.

So my question is, does anyone know with absolute confidence what the PA regs are re this situation?

Who would be the final authority to ask in PA?

From a purely legal standpoint being bequeathed a firearm or anything else in a will makes that item legally mine. The term 'bequeath' appears to carry special circumstances that differentiate it from a purchase.

Thanks for your help,

Joe

(Centre County)

Default Re: bequeathed a pistol in a will

IANAL, but if it was in the will and the will stated "Gun "X" is to be given to my cousin Mr. John Doe", then the executor just has to hand it to you (since you already know that it is ok in NJ. It does not have to go through a FFL even though you are not a PA resident. 27 CFR 478.30 covers this (it is allowed).
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Jefferson County)

The state police of NJ was correct.

PA, NJ, and US laws allow for bequeathed guns without a FFL being involved.

For your sake to cover your butt, get a copy of the will stating that the specified gun goes to you and a copy of the death certificate.