Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Getting shotty for HD and Clays

So I have never owned, or even fired, a shotgun. I want one for home defense but that i can also take out to a range for tom clays/trap/skeet.

As I am a novice should I look into a combo deal like for a Remington 870? Another questions is should i go with 12 or 20 gauge?
    DISCOUNTS - Steel Target Paint: beaverje10 (10% off) | Wiland USA: jbeaver05 (5% off)

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Getting shotty for HD and Clays

beav~
    Since you stated that you wanted a shotgun for home defense, I assume that's your primary concern. You can't beat the reliability of an 870 or Mossberg 500. Reliability is everything in a defensive weapon. I'd swing for a 28" to 30" barrel for clay games, and certainly get an 18" to 20" for its HD role. Forget that tactical horsesh!t that is all the rage these days. Hollywood and World of Warcraft has ruined us.
    Of course, the longer barrel should have screw-in chokes to accommodate the various games you're interested in.
    As far as gauge is concerned, that's up to you. Can you handle the heavier recoil of a 12? 00 buckshot loads kick with some real authority. I personally favor the 12 gauge because of its extra shot capacity. The more lead you sling into the air, the better your chances of hitting something.
    Also, if you start hitting targets with regularity, I'm betting inside of a year you'll be looking for another gun for trap/skeet, etc. (Or one for each)

Good luck

Tom

(Berks County)

(Butler County)

I bought the mossberg 500 cruiser 12 ga. pump. Came with a pistol grip and 18" barrel. Bought a full stock and longer barrel for hunting. Can change both in the matter of minutes.

Also picked up some 2 3/4" 00 buck shot in low recoil for home defense. They make a big difference.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Zeeba View Post
    beav~