Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Question Martial Arts/unarmed combat

OK, we all have at least one thing in common, our love for firearms. Now I would like to know who is into the martial arts or some form of unarmed combat and what your preferred style is. Currently I am involved with Tai Chi, primarily Yang style, and enjoy that. Who and What else?
    Bill USAF 1976 - 1986, NRA Endowment, USCCA

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Martial Arts/unarmed combat

I started out with Goju Ryu at 10, took that 5 years. Then 2 styles of TKD in college and early 20s. Then 6 years of Choy Li Fut Kung Fu then another 4 or 5 of Southern Praying Mantis Kung Fu.

More recently, I'm moving towards simpler, more adrenaline-friendly combatives styles, also with some grappling, along with Western boxing footwork and body movement. I studied for a while with a guy in Philly teaching such an amalgam system.

I haven't done anything in a couple of years, but if/when I get back into it, it'll be some form of combatives, either WWII-derived (see the Carl Cestari "basement tapes" for an idea of that) or maybe Krav Maga (there's a school less than a mile away) or something like that. Another option is one of the Indonesian styles that are already highly useful combatives oriented.

The good thing about living 6 blocks from Chinatown is the martial arts choices readily available.

(Allegheny County)

i've had a little (very little) formal training in martial arts. i never really saw the applicability of many styles of martial arts to real world fights.

on the other hand, i wrestled in high school and for many years during and after high school in freestyle (olympic style) tournaments. i found that my wrestling skills served me very well in street fights.