Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Converted my G23 to .357 sig and......

I recently just got a KKM .357 sig Barrel for my g23. Before going to the range I stopped at my local gun shop. I bought two boxes of Golddots(they were in old packaging) and two boxes of Fiocchi *copper Plated* 124 grn FMJs(the writing on the box was all in Italian, if that means anything).

When i got into the range, It started off fine. I loved the round and the way it shot. However after about two Magazines in, my gun jammed(failure to feed). The rest of the box went through fine. When I started shooting the second box, it failed to feed again, then again, then again. After the second box was finished my gun had failed to feed a total of seven times, one of those times it even failed when I was racking the slide to load it.

I went to the counter and asked if people have ever complained about the Converted 357s ever having problems. The guy asked me if I had changed the spring, I told him I didn't and that every one I have talked said the original spring will work just fine. I then purchased a box of federal American eagle FMJs and went back to the range to give it another try. I put the whole box through my gun with out a single problem, worked just fine, I loved it.

Does anybody have an theories on what was the problem, do you think I need to do something else for gun or were those Fiocchis just no good for it? (on a side note, I could tell the federals were loaded hotter then the fiocchis, the recoil was stronger and they were much louder)

I would love to use this as my carry round but those failures to feed has me thinking twice.
    Last edited by Invention; November 4th, 2011 at 03:58 PM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Converted my G23 to .357 sig and......

Quote Originally Posted by Invention View Post