Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: youth lessons

(Bucks County)

Default youth lessons

Hi. Complete newbie in regards to guns and shooting. Recently, my ten year old son was introduced to target shooting with a rifle at a poconos resort. He was hooked. Now he watches "Top Shot" regularly. Very athletic and responsible. What are my options if I want to encourage what seems to be a very natural talent? We live in the Newtown area. Any local places that offer junior classes or even private lessons?
    Thanks

(Allegheny County)

Thumbs up Re: youth lessons

Quote Originally Posted by marcos1 View Post
    Hi. Complete newbie in regards to guns and shooting. Recently, my ten year old son was introduced to target shooting with a rifle at a poconos resort. He was hooked. Now he watches "Top Shot" regularly. Very athletic and responsible. What are my options if I want to encourage what seems to be a very natural talent? We live in the Newtown area. Any local places that offer junior classes or even private lessons?
    Thanks
    He's what - a Webelos II now? Doesn't your District's Cub Scout Day Camp offer a BB gun range? My oldest is also a Webelos II - he's been shooting since he was a Tiger Cub, 4 years ago.

When he crosses over to the Boy Scouts in the spring, he'll be shooting .22LR at Resident Camp, and can shoot skeet for his Shotgun Shooting Merit Badge, to compliment his Rifle Shooting Merit Badge as well.

I realize Cradle of Liberty Council gets a lot of black eyes from Philthy press, but I'd be very surprised if their Cub Day Camps didn't offer BB guns. Check your council newsletter as well, for other shooting camps/weekends throughout the year (especially in the fall, as it's new recruitment time).

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: youth lessons