Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Newbie

(Centre County)

Default Newbie

Hello everyone,

I'm new to shooting but would like to get into pistol target shooting. I do not have a gun right now but I am hoping to purchase a Ruger MKIII soon. I'm trying to find a range I can shot at but haven't had much luck. Can you guys recommend some ranges in the area and discuss how their facilities are set up (if I have to bring my own target and ammo)?

Thanks
    Justin

Default Re: Newbie

Can't help you with ranges as I am not in your area, but would suggest that you get your License to Carry Firearms now from your local sheriff.

It makes trips to the range in your vehicle much easier and also will let you carry concealed on your person if you desire to in the future.

It also, among other things, lets you carry your gun in your vehicle, even if not going to the range.

(Schuylkill County)

Yahoo Search: Gun Clubs near State College, PA It lists 11 clubs in your area with contact phone numbers. There are no free ranges in PA anymore as the game commission ranges require a hunting lic. or a range permit. In my opinion the best thing for a new shooter beside a firearm training course or someone you trust to teach you. Is to join a rod and gun club as the other members can sometimes provide some basic instruction and firearm safety. In my area you need to supply your own firearm, ammo, and targets at the ranges I use. All clubs are different so you'll need to call them to see if they even have a pistol range and how much to join. Good luck

(Centre County)

Justin,