Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Range rage

(Northampton County)

Default Range rage

Sorry for the rant guys, but I need to get this off my chest. If I'm wrong, please let me know.

Today my buddy and I were having a great time shooting over at steel city outdoor shooting range. That is until another member who passed by from the police range decided to tell me that I was not allowed to shoot from past the firing table. I was surprised by this because I have been a member for the past two years and everyone (including the range officer) has always seen (or have done it themselves) me walk up to the targets in order to get within 10-20 yard range. How am I expected to practice my self defense shooting from a table 50 yards away?

Anyway, I was accused of ruining the 4x4 wood posts or endangering myself from a ricochet. Now while I'm not a seasoned pro, I have pretty decent aim. Again, I must reiterate every member that has been at this range always walks closer to the target. When this happens, the rest of us stand behind the table with slides racked open, mags out and away from our weapons. There is much respect when the range area is being shared.

After I was told that I was being improper I asked the man who he was? I figured if your trying to correct me, I should know who you are. Basically, I wanted to find out if he was another range officer that I was unaware of. He stated that he was a member (like myself) and that I was wrong.

After he left I walked up to another member who was at the shooting range and asked his opinion. He said that my friend and I had done nothing wrong and from what he had seen, we had been practicing with total safety. We also noticed that nowhere on the pistol range or on my membership card where the rules are stated does it say that shooting must be done from the table. He said that the guy was just giving me some sh*t.

Honestly, this did put a damper on what was a pretty good shooting day.