Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: first setup

(Lancaster County)

Default first setup

I'm new to the hunting world and am now in the market for a new setup. Was wondering what caliber do you recommend for Pa whitetail (.270, .308, etc.)? What would be a decent first rifle. I already own a AR-10T (.308), but obviously can't use it. However, would that be good caliber since I already feed it to my AR? By the way, I'm still hoping someone would be willing to take on a novice for first deer hunt Thanks in advance.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: first setup

Quote Originally Posted by 1:7twist View Post
    I'm new to the hunting world and am now in the market for a new setup. Was wondering what caliber do you recommend for Pa whitetail (.270, .308, etc.)? What would be a decent first rifle. I already own a AR-10T (.308), but obviously can't use it. However, would that be good caliber since I already feed it to my AR? By the way, I'm still hoping someone would be willing to take on a novice for first deer hunt Thanks in advance.
    Are the bullets you are shooting out of the ar-10t fmj? If so you can't hunt with them so sharing ammo with the two will not be a selling point since hunting bullets are more expensive. You have just opened the pandora's box with everyone telling you to get this cartridge or that one. I will narrow it down for you answer these questions and make your own decision.

1. are you hunting brush or fields

30-30, 35rem for brush, 308,30-06, 300mag for longer shots

2. Do you want to hunt bear, or elk later or in the same season you will need a caliber conducive to the the task.

3. what is your budget

4.lever or bolt, pump