Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Hello, & Question about carrying at private university

First off I'd like to say hello to all of you. My name is Mark and I've just recently turned 21. I've always enjoyed shooting since childhood and now that it's legal I would definitely like to start exercising my rights. My CCW is pending and I'll be getting a pistol as soon as I find one that I like and can afford. Being that I'm in college, this is a big deal. Possibly looking at an FEG PA-63, but I digress.

I'm a student at CMU, and they have a strict policy of not having weapons on campus (http://www.cmu.edu/policies/document...lyWeapons.html) despite the fact that almost weekly students are robbed/assaulted, often at gunpoint, on and near campus. Anyone reading the crime and incident section of the school newspaper is aware of this (thetartan.org). Students are even assaulted in the university center, so even the main part of campus is not totally safe.

My question is, in breif: Can they do that? I realize that no legal penalties would result from legally carrying, but still, I don't want to be expelled either. At the same time, there is a very real threat here as college students are seen as easy prey. While im not paranoid or anything and I fully realize that my chances of being involved are slim, I still feel that my rights should not be infringed in this manner. I am also concerned that since where I live is property owned by the school, even having a firearm would be a violation of this policy. Seems to me like it is a similar situation to a landlord telling me I could not have a weapon in my apartment.