Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Question Hunting noob - some questions

My 12yo daughter wants to start hunting. While I have plenty of experience with firearms, I have never hunted in my life. We are taking our classes in August. I have a couple of questions that I've been unable to find answers for on Google.

1) What is the smallest caliber that I can use for deer in PA? My wife claims that I shouldn't buy a .308 because her parents always got their deer with a .22! Father-in-law laughed at this claim when I mentioned it to him. His claim is that they used a "six-fourty-three" (which sounds like an elephant gun) and my assumption is that the truth is that they used a .243.

2) Do you think a 20 gauge would be a good starter gun for my daughter? We were at the in-laws yesterday and she put 7 or 8 rounds through an old NE by Mossberg and she seemed to handle it well and says she felt no discomfort. The 20 seems like a relatively good all around firearm. I'd like to start her out on smaller game (rabbits, squirrels, maybe up to turkey size) just to make sure she wants to go after something like a deer.

3) How do I go about joining a sportsman's club? I'd like to take her out shooting the .22 ASAP but I don't know of any outdoor ranges in the area.

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: Hunting noob - some questions

1. Any center-fire rifle is legal to hunt deer with... A .222 on up... Doesn't take much to kill a deer if you have good shot placement...

2. 20 ga. shotgun is good for anyone, but the age of your daughter is important. Most 8 year olds can't hold it up let alone shoot it. If your daughter is young, a .410 shotgun has almost no recoil and can shoot slugs for deer, but I wouldn't try anything with a .410 past 50 yards...