Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Question What about safety glasses?

I'm new to handguns and ranges, and I see safety glasses are required for the classes and on the range. I have never had any safety glasses that worked over my regular glasses which I wear all the time. Prescription safety glasses are a couple hundred bux. There has to be a better solution. Any suggestions?

Thanks

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: What about safety glasses?

I always considered prescription glasses to be adequate eye protection when using a firearm. All it's for is to prevent anything flying into your eyes. You should be fine just using them.

Safety glasses are a must and a definite must if you reload. WM has over the glasses sun and safety glasses for around $20. Check out Cabela's, Bass Pro Shops, Natchez Supply, and Cheaper Than Dirt, as well. As said before, prescription glasses usually work well if they cover enough of your eye. I wear the over the glasses sun glasses from WM and they work great. $20.
    BCM and Glock...for a bigger pile of 'cold dead hands' brass.

(Bucks County)

If I were you, I would find something that works. Although prescription eyeglasses will somewhat protect your eyes, you still risk damage to both your eyes and glasses. A good friend of mine had a shell eject and hit his very expensive prescription eyeglasses. Although his eye was protected, the lens in his glasses was scratched/chipped.

(Montgomery County)

You could wear your own daily prescription glasses, yet if something hits them you are looking at replacing them which is pricey. Furthermore, your daily glasses are probably not ballistic rated and you may be injured as well as having your glasses destroyed. I do not know about you, but my eyes are worth more than a few hundred bucks to me.