Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Perry County)

Default AR-15 optics questions

Since AR15.com doesn't want me to post questions on their forum, I guess my only choice is to ask here.

I'm looking for budget optics - leaning towards Primary Arms optics atm. I just built my first AR-15 (1st owned AR-15 also).

I'm kind of torn between a red dot sight with a magnifier and a 1-4x scope. I've never used either type of scope before, just regular old hunting rifle type scopes and a cheap reflex sight. What kinds of advantages and disadvantages can you give me between the 2?

Max range will most likely be 100 yards and just range plinking unless PA changes it's hunting laws. My AR has a 16" mid-length barrel, 12" quad rail, Magpul MBUS front and rear sights. I also wear glasses if that makes any kind of difference.

Oh, and don't even bother saying Aimpoint, Trijicon, Eotech, or any of those expensive brands. That was the 1st and only response I got on ar15.com before the thread was closed. If I was looking for one of those, I wouldn't be posting this thread.
    Last edited by WWGunslinger; June 27th, 2011 at 10:54 PM.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: AR-15 optics questions

I got the same question. With some of the same issues.
    Money
    Glasses
    NEVER used a scope

but have a AR with carry handle and no rails
    its 20" bbl and I want to shoot to 300+ meters
    It takes 40 muscles to frown, but only 4 to pull the trigger on a decent sniper rifle.

(Lancaster County)