Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Clinton County)

Thumbs down PICS Denial Conundrum

Howdy, all. I ran into a bit of a conundrum here. I recently applied to purchase a new shotgun, and the dealer I went to ran the PICS check, and, after thirty minutes of standing in front of the counter, while the dealer waited to talk to the operator, I received a very abrupt, "Denied, have a nice day," from the dealer. I have no criminal background, I've never been arrested, I've never even gotten a parking ticket. So naturally I took a PICS challenge form. I filled it out, and mailed it the following morning. I then got a letter back, (two weeks, not 5 business days), saying, "Denial is confirmed", because of a "Mental Health Commitment, 04/26/2002". I was 8 years old at the time I was admitted, because I got backed into a corner by a psychiatrist that probably shouldn't have been licensed in the commonwealth of PA, and I threatened, (not attempted, threatened) to kill myself if they tried to put me in a hospital (which they wanted to do, to do an observational medicine check). I guess what I'm asking is, has anyone ever ran into this situation, a medical record from when you were a young child, that shouldn't prohibit you, but does? I wrote a three page letter, and formed up a twenty page file, which draws on the Mental Health Procedures Act, the U.S.C 18 section regarding mental health commitment, and a letter from the psychiatrist at the hospital I was in saying I didn't need to be there. In my honest opinion, it was a perfect example of liberal government pencil pushers jumping the gun, and making a mountain of a molehill. I'm the most sane person you'll ever meet, but yet that comes up. And to further illustrate my confusion, the documentation the PSP sent me has NO identifying numbers on it, absolutely nothing to even begin to tell me what they think happened to me.

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: PICS Denial Conundrum