Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default My job said No conversion barrels

I work as an armored truck driver/guard and presently carry a Glock 19. I recently purchased a Glock 29 knowing full well 10mm is not permitted at work. I bought a 40 conversion barrel for it to practice and also to qualify with it so I could carry it at work. Well our firearms guy shot down my plan because it is not a Glock barrel and he said aftermarket barrels are not reliable for a duty gun. Anybody had issues with conversion barrels? I don't reload if that matters. Barrel is a Lone Wolf but he never asked the brand.

(Berks County)

Default Re: My job said No conversion barrels

Regardless if they are reliable or not, if it's company policy, it's company policy. When I had a 40 cal Glock I used a 9mm LW barrel and never had any "issues". I've since switched all my Glocks to dedicated 9mm platforms.

(Fayette County)

Its probably an insurance issue.

You wouldn't believe the amount of insurance an armed security company pays and all of the precise rules they have to follow.

For instance the insurance company for your employer probably feels that if a "modified" gun didn't function properly and got you or your co workers hurt or someone from the public, they would be a raft of shit.

I doubt the armor singled you out. He's just following company code.
    "One must be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves” ~ Machiavelli

(Blair County)

I had a lone wolf barrel for a glcok 20 and it sucked. It took 8 weeks to get. When it finally showed up I had two failure to feeds in the first mag and my groups were about 6" at 25 yards. This is out of a 6 inch barrel, stock barrel could make 3 inch groups. I sold the gun.

(Northampton County)

Failure to feed would worry me. But I am not worried about 3inch groups from what I have been told if I meet a BG outside the armored truck it will be up close and personal.