Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Exclamation South Philadelphia Archery and Gun Club (SPAG) Warranty/Repair Warning

A few months ago I had to return my Smith and Wesson BG380 (pistol) for a warranty claim (problems with the CT buttons and an issue with the slide pin) and SPAG charged me about $35 to send it out for warranty.

Though I doth protest such a high fee, especially because I purchased the firearm there, I payed it for the sake of having my firearm sent repaired by S&W (this is my first time doing a warranty claim).

Today, I called S&W because I am having similar issues and they said they would give me a shipping label/instruction for free, and that the dealers usually shouldn't charge anything for a warranty claim because they get the postage for free too..

Shame shame on SPAG for this one. I have been a member at the club for a few years now, and have purchased most of the handguns I own at this club because of their normally friendly customer service (and the fact that it is closer to where I live than driving further away.) I like they guys in there, I like the range they run, but honestly? Charging me for a free warranty claim? That BG380 is the LAST time I buy a firearm from you.

And for what its worth, the S&W customer service rep was very courteous and quick to help me resolve the problem.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: South Philadelphia Archery and Gun Club (SPAG) Warranty/Repair Warning

I am not sure a shop sending a gun in is as cut and dry as them calling for a mailing label. Don't they have to log it into their books when thy took it from you? Then again when Smith sent it back to them?

I am not saying they should have charged you for the service. But that may be why thy did.
    troll Free. It's all in your mind.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: South Philadelphia Archery and Gun Club (SPAG) Warranty/Repair Warning